Twelve months of Exponentials

The end of 2010 is upon us. I swore to myself that I would not do memes on this blog, but, being the weasel and congenital liar that I am, here I am, doing one anyway. I actually like this one, I did it once before… I think. Should I check ? Nah, I am going to be lazy.
I have been blogging for three years now, the last two on WordPress, and it’s been a lot of fun.

So, the rules for this blog meme are quite simple:
Post the link and first sentence from the first blog entry for each month of the past year. Now, I suppose that, strictly speaking a “sentence” should end with the first period, or question mark, or exclamation point. So, here we go:

January
“Interview season is about to begin in earnest for science academic job seekers, both at the faculty and postdoctoral level.”
(Big Picture)

February
“Based on my experience, what would be my advice to anyone considering a tenure-track faculty appointment in a science department at a non-research institution, such as a 4-yr college, if that person had some ambition to establish a respectable research program, one that can be called “successful” by some accepted standards ?”
(Research at Non-research Schools: My Story (II))

March
“The game show host presents the contestant with three closed boxes.”
(Probability and Knowledge)

April
“If I had to go back to being a postdoc, knowing what I know now as a PI, would I do anything differently ?”
(What would i do differently ?)

May
“What is the job of a theoretical physicist ?”
(What do you do for a living, anyway ?)

June
“A few commenters took issue with a contention that I made in my latest post, namely that publications matter very little, when it comes to the fortunes of science doctoral degree holders seeking employment in industry.”
(On jobs and papers)

July
“When I lived in San Diego, my house was in the close vicinity of the campus of the large state university that employed me at the time.”
(When volunteerism is a problem)

August
“In one of his latest posts, Doug Natelson brings up a thorny issue for condensed matter physicists, namely: what makes it so difficult to render palatable to the general public this area of research, which so many of us find not only scientifically compelling and intellectually fascinating, but also genuinely fun ?”
(Popularize this !)

September
“What kind of university administrator would you be ?”
(What university administrator are you ?)

October
“How does your lab / department / institute recognise milestones such as papers, presentations, grants and fellowships ?”
(Join me in congratulating myself)

November
“The Division of Computational Physics (DCOMP) of the American Physical Society will be holding its annual meeting in conjunction with the March meeting, namely that of the Division of Condensed Matter Physics (DCMP), by far the largest division of the APS.”
(Give me one reason)

December
“Imagine the following scene: you are vacationing at a five-star resort.”
(I want to know what you are thinking)

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

