Not to brag or anything, but…


Hello,

I’m pleased to announce to you that your blog Exponential Book; just entered at number 207 in Wikio Sciences top blog ranking.
Wikio is an information portal with a news search engine that searches press sites and blogs.
As you are now part of Wikio’s ranked blogs , we offer you the opportunity to set up a badge , which is automatically updated each month (the 5th), that displays your blog’s position in your Top Blog category. The badge is the simplest way for your readers and yourself to follow your blog’s evolution.
Don’t hesitate to get in touch with me if you have any questions or if you want me to send your badge’s HTML code directly via email.
Have a nice day,

[name omitted]
Community Executive @ Wikio US

What can I say ? It is a such a pleasure to see the results of my hard work. I mean, I can almost see the looks of envy on the faces of my fellow bloggers…. ooh, I so wish my blog were ranked at 207 in the prestigious Wikio science blog rankings….
Now, it would have been nice if they had addressed me by my name, but, come on, it is 2010, we do not really have time for that formal crap anymore, do we… and… is it just my impression or, what they are really telling me is that mine is the 207th blog of whose existence they have become aware ?
Well, it is OK, let’s not get all worked up over small details, the fact is, I am now officially ranked, and that, my friends, is no small feat.

Time for celebrations, methink. Now, the badge… eh, I don’t know about that.

Tags: , , ,

12 Responses to “Not to brag or anything, but…”

  1. Cath Ennis Says:

    Congratulations, Massimo! Surely it’s only a matter of time before you can give up this theoretical physics thing and be a professional blogger, raking in thousands of dollars a week from your sofa.

  2. Schlupp Says:

    Hello,

    We are pleased to inform you of the launch of our new journal “Blogging, Meta-Whatever and Lots of Money”, whose purpose is the publication of cutting-edge peer-reviewed add-your-other-favorite-buzzwords-here research on, uh, something. Our high-profile editorial board would welcome submissions from leading scientists and bloggers like you. All submitted manuscripts will be peer-reviewed and published online withing 5 weeks or as soon as your fee has arrived on our bank account.

    Yours sincerely,

    Schlupp, PhD
    Editor in Chief of “Blogging, Meta-Whatever and Lots of Money”
    Some Obscure Publisher on the Other Side of the World (or a big Dutch one)

    Should you want to unsubscribe from our communications, please send an email to send_me_spam@SOPotOSotW.com

  3. ScientistMother Says:

    Now that you’re going to be making the big bucks, are you going to throw us a party to celebrate? I’m feeling the need for some booze….

    • Massimo Says:

      Awe, c’mon now SM, Chicago was the better team, the Canucks still had a great season — I know, coming from an Oiler fan this does not mean much…

  4. cherish Says:

    Woot! Definitely a good excuse for a party. Congrats!

    I wonder if I’ll ever make the list…but I suppose I need to have more than 3 readers, first. :-)

    • Massimo Says:

      Cherish, something tells me that the number of readers is really not the criterion for inclusion in those, um, highly distinguished rankings. Notice how the reward consists of advertising for free someone else’s web site…

  5. prodigal academic Says:

    LOL. You’ve been contacted by the “Who’s Who” or the J. Poult. Sci. of the Web!

  6. microbiologist xx Says:

    I’m totally jealous. :) Why are you opposed to the badge? It could be the most awesomely cool blog ranking badge evah!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

